Espace

Événements et webinaires

Get your study enrolled - What to avoid putting in your impairment study protocol that slows recruitment

08 May 10am – 11am EDT (3pm BST / 4pm CEST) Duration: 1 hour Watch Here
Webinar overview

As drug development progresses, regulators require a clear picture of how products are metabolized in the human body, and the risks associated with compounds that may linger in critical organs.

Renal impairment studies are a challenging area to recruit, especially for moderate and severe subjects. Therefore, making informed decisions about the design of protocols is key, as overly complex protocols can quickly narrow the patient population.

This webinar will drawer on experiences from both the site and CRO perspectives to inform sponsors to how protocols might be better written to maximize patient enrollment opportunities, balancing the practicalities of achieving study goals whilst also satisfying the needs of regulatory bodies around the world.

The webinar will discuss observations from the presenters’ collective history of working with regulators in this area to help guide design decision making to successfully enroll patients and keep your drug development on track.

Learnings:

  • Understand design considerations around mild, moderate and/or severe populations, and the resulting implications for recruitment

  • Challenge thinking on what a "typical" patient looks like? From GFR estimates to cholecystectomies - how to avoid assumptions that inadvertently limit patient populations

  • Avoid mistakes on protocol inclusion and exclusion criteria

  • Learn from the presenters collective experience of what regulators are looking for when conducting impairment studies

  • Reflect on some of the key points in the FDA Draft Guidance “Guidance for Industry Pharmacokinetics in Patients with Impaired Renal Function- Study Design , Data Analysis, and Impact on Dosing”

 

Speakers
Jasmine Ropers & guests TBC